Prof. N. R. Bhanumurthy

N R Bhanumurthy

Prof. N. R. Bhanumurthy



Brief Profile

Prof N. R. Bhanumurthy has taken charge as a first Vice-Chancellor of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar School of Economics University, Bengaluru (BASE University). He is currently on deputation from NIPFP, New Delhi, where he has been a Professor since 2009. Prior to this he worked as Assistant Professor and Associate Professor at Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi.

His research areas are macro-monetary economics, fiscal policy, international money & finance, macroeconomic modeling and development economics. In these areas he has authored over 90 research papers, five books, and over 250 short articles in newspapers and magazines. His views on Indian economy is very regularly quoted in both print and visual media. He has successfully co-supervised 6 Ph.d students and was part of Doctoral committee of 5 Ph.d students. He had brief stints at UNESCAP, Bangkok and at UNDP RCC at Colombo as Macroeconomist. He was a Visiting Fellow at MSH, Paris, Mcgill University, Montreal and ADB, Manila. He has been a consultant to UN-DESA (New York), UN-ESCWA (Beirut), UNDP-Nepal, UNDP-Bhutan, UNESCAP, ILO, the World Bank, and ADB.

He has served on over 25 government committees constituted by Finance Ministry, Ministry of Statistics, Ministry of Rural Development, National Statistical Commission, Ministry of Education, erstwhile Planning Commission, NITI Aayog, RBI, SEBI, Government of Madhya Pradesh, Government of Karnataka, among others. Dr Bhanumurthy is currently serving as Managing Trustee of the Indian Econometric Society Trust and also Managing Trustee of Indian Economic Association Trust for Research and Development since 2010. He was Secretary of the Indian Econometric Society for over 17 years between 2006 and 2023. As part of the India’s G20 presidency, Dr Bhanumurthy is nominated as a Chair for the T20 Taskforce1 on Macroeconomics, Trade and Livelihoods’

He has received two prestigious awards: Mahalanobis Memorial Medal (National) Award for the year 2014 for his contributions to the field of quantitative economics in India; and “VKRV Rao Prize in Social Sciences (Economics)” for the year 2015, for high quality research and for significant contributions to social science research in India.